ECGD -- Mentoring at LHCb

LHCb has a mentoring programme, to help put early career physicists in touch with more experienced colleagues. (This is complementary to the guidance they get from their supervisor or group leader.) Here is a table of volunteer mentors -- you can contact them by email or in person, or through the ECGD team (see below).

Name mail Country Position
Barbara Sciascia barbara.sciascia@cernNOSPAMPLEASE.ch Italy Senior
Jonas Rademacker jonas.rademacker@bristolNOSPAMPLEASE.ac.uk UK Senior
Vincenzo Vagnoni vincenzo.vagnoni@boNOSPAMPLEASE.infn.it Italy Senior
Marc-Olivier Bettler mbettler@cernNOSPAMPLEASE.ch EU PostDoc
Mat Charles matthew.john.charles@cernNOSPAMPLEASE.ch France, UK Senior
Tim Gershon t.j.gershon@warwickNOSPAMPLEASE.ac.uk UK Senior
Vladimir Vava Gligorov vladimir.gligorov@cernNOSPAMPLEASE.ch France, UK, CERN Senior
Michal Kreps M.Kreps@warwickNOSPAMPLEASE.ac.uk UK (with some info for Germany and Slovakia) Senior
Yasmine Amhis amhis@lalNOSPAMPLEASE.in2p3.fr France Senior
Pierluigi Campana pierluigi.campana@lnfNOSPAMPLEASE.infn.it Italy Senior
Tara Shears tara.shears@cernNOSPAMPLEASE.ch UK (esp Earnest Rutherford & RS Fellowships) Senior
Monica Pepe Altarelli monica.pepe.altarelli@cernNOSPAMPLEASE.ch CERN Senior
Mika Vesterinen mika.vesterinen@cernNOSPAMPLEASE.ch UK, Germany, CERN PostDoc
Fatima Soomro soomro5000@gmailNOSPAMPLEASE.com UK, Switzerland (some info for Italy) PostDoc (left HEP)
Marie-Helene Schune schunem@lalNOSPAMPLEASE.in2p3.fr France Senior
Patrick Koppenburg patrick.koppenburg@cernNOSPAMPLEASE.ch CH, UK, NL Senior
Greig Cowan g.cowan@edNOSPAMPLEASE.ac.uk UK PostDoc
Marina Artuso artusomarina@gmailNOSPAMPLEASE.com US Senior
Irina Nasteva irina@cbpfNOSPAMPLEASE.br Brazil Senior
Antonis Papanestis antonis.papanestis@stfcNOSPAMPLEASE.ac.uk UK Senior
Val Gibson gibson@hepNOSPAMPLEASE.phy.cam.ac.uk UK Senior
Paras Naik Paras.Naik@bristolNOSPAMPLEASE.ac.uk UK PostDoc
Vincent Tisserand tisserav@lappNOSPAMPLEASE.in2p3.fr France Senior
Olaf Steinkamp olafs@physikNOSPAMPLEASE.uzh.ch CH Senior
Paula Collins paula.collins@cernNOSPAMPLEASE.ch CH Senior
Bernhard Spaan Bernhard.Spaan@tu-dortmundNOSPAMPLEASE.de Germany Senior
Frédéric Machefert frederic@cernNOSPAMPLEASE.ch France Senior

If you're here to volunteer as a mentor, please go ahead and add yourself to the table (or update/remove the line if your situation changes). If you have a contact/info page at your home institute, you can make your name double as a link to it.

Here "country" means those countries/areas about which the mentor can offer guidance, and "position" is the type of post held by the mentor: PostDoc, PhD student, Master Student, Engineer, Technician, Senior.

To contact a mentor, just write an email to her/him. If, for any reason, you don't want to contact directly a mentor, you can write an email to one of us (oyangur@ificNOSPAMPLEASE.uv.es) and we'll do it for you. (We can even find a mentor for you if you're not sure who to approach).

More information on mentoring

During the first ECGD meeting, 1st December 2014, the topic of mentoring has been discussed. Following the responses collected during the meeting and with the agreement of LHCb management, it has been decided to establish a mentoring system at LHCb. This of course heavily relies on participants, those who volunteer to provide mentoring, and those who use them. Mentoring can be a very helpful tool for coping with the intricacies of your job and your career, and should also be fun and rewarding experience for all involved.

The mentoring role can take several forms. Full mentoring would imply regular meetings/discussions with the individuals or the group associated with that mentor. But more limited interactions can also be very useful, such as advice on job applications / CVs (especially when someone is applying for a position in a country whose system they're not familiar with).

Resources

  • ECFA and EPS-HEPP have prepared a short report about how recruitment committees should evaluate candidates from experimental HEP. While it's aimed at non-HEP committee members, it does a good job of explaining how things work (or should work) in an HEP selection process, and what the recruitment committee pays attention to. So if you're applying for a post, worth a read. There's also a cover letter.
  • ECGDPostInfo

-- BarbaraSciascia - 2015-02-17

Topic attachments
I Attachment History Action Size Date Who Comment
PDFpdf Evaluation-accompanying_letter-final-general.pdf r1 manage 84.8 K 2015-06-24 - 09:03 MatthewCharles ECFA recommendations for evaluation of experimental particle physicists (with covering letter)
PDFpdf ecfa-291_ECFA-HEP-evaluation.pdf r1 manage 120.1 K 2015-06-24 - 09:03 MatthewCharles ECFA recommendations for evaluation of experimental particle physicists (with covering letter)
Edit | Attach | Watch | Print version | History: r47 < r46 < r45 < r44 < r43 | Backlinks | Raw View | WYSIWYG | More topic actions
Topic revision: r47 - 2018-07-25 - MatthewCharles
 
    • Cern Search Icon Cern Search
    • TWiki Search Icon TWiki Search
    • Google Search Icon Google Search

    LHCb All webs login

This site is powered by the TWiki collaboration platform Powered by PerlCopyright &© 2008-2018 by the contributing authors. All material on this collaboration platform is the property of the contributing authors.
Ideas, requests, problems regarding TWiki? Send feedback