EOSCMS data deletion prevention measures

"Recycle Bin"

The "Recycle Bin" option is available only in the 0.3.x release of EOS (Beryll). This release will be installed on EOSCMS on 12.11.2013.

Features:

- The option can be set per directory. Should be done by administrator.

- Each user can recover deleted files which are owned by him/her.

- The quota for the "Recycle Bin" is one and it is common for the whole EOSCMS.

- Purging of the "Recycle Bin" is done automatically after certain "lifetime" (in ATLAS case for the moment - three days) or manually by administrator. Lifetime is set per file.

- Once the "Recycle Bin" is filled, no more deletes are possible. An alarm on such cases is forseen. For the moment the monitoring is manual.

Pro:

- All files deleted within the "lifetime" are recoverable.

Cons:

- Requires additional disk space which is not going to be provided by IT.

- Filling up of "Recycle Bin" prevents file deletion for everybody. This can be prevented by setting proper quota size and coordinating official data deletion compains with the EOS team.

- It does not prevent malicious user from deleting all files with wrongly set linux access

-- IvanGlushkov - 07 Nov 2013

Edit | Attach | Watch | Print version | History: r2 < r1 | Backlinks | Raw View | WYSIWYG | More topic actions
Topic revision: r2 - 2013-11-07 - IvanGlushkov
 
    • Cern Search Icon Cern Search
    • TWiki Search Icon TWiki Search
    • Google Search Icon Google Search

    Sandbox All webs login

This site is powered by the TWiki collaboration platform Powered by PerlCopyright & 2008-2020 by the contributing authors. All material on this collaboration platform is the property of the contributing authors.
or Ideas, requests, problems regarding TWiki? use Discourse or Send feedback